How to Avoid Leaving Content in a Checked-in or Checked-out Status
How do I know if a content block has been left in a checked-out/Checked-In status
The content block below has been left in a Checked-Out Status. Users will see the 'O' in the status column in the Ektron workarea.
The content block below has been left in a Checked-In Status. Users will see an 'I' in the status column and the content block is not available for editing to any other user until it has been published.
If a contact block is left in a Checked-Out or Checked-In status and you are unable to edit it, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
The content block below has been left in a APPROVED/PUBLISHED status as shown by the 'A' in the status column and the content block is available and can be edited.
Approved Content Blocks have been PUBLISHED! Remember, if you clicked the edit button you must publish the content in order to avoid leaving it in a checked-out or checked-in status.
Why is content left in a checked-in or checked-out status?
Usually a user leaves something in a checked-out or checked-in status because they weren't sure they wanted to edit that content block, but clicked the EDIT button, and then pressed the CANCEL button instead of the PUBLISH button to leave the content block.
If you click the EDIT button and look at a content block you must PUBLISH rather than click on the back button in order to avoid leaving the content in a Checked-in/Checked-out Status.
Click the arrow to the right of the content block name and choose VIEW from the drop-down menu when you are not positive the information you want to edit is in that content block. After choosing VIEW you can press the CANCEL button without leaving the content checked-in or checked-out.
Click on the name of the content block and then click the VIEW button.